Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_0600

Y’all.  My world has been transformed.  A few weeks ago we had a dinner party at our house, and one of our friends brought falafels with roasted beets and plain yogurt.  She has a friend who is from Iraq and she said that Iraqis traditionally eat falafels with beets and yogurt.  So we ate, and it was delicious.  Super delicious.

DSC_0609

But THEN.  The next day I was trying to figure out something to eat and I found some nice baby salad greens, some leftover falafels, some chèvre (also leftover from the gathering).  And an avocado.  And you guys, I decided to put the falafels on top of the greens, sort of crumbled up.  And I crumbled some of that chèvre right in and then diced up the whole avocado in as well.  And then I drizzled it with olive oil and a generous sprinkle of salt. And it was honestly one of the best things I have ever eaten.

DSC_0606

Until I made the same salad yesterday but with the addition of roasted beets, because after that dinner party I have been craving beets. (Yesterday’s salad also lacked the goat’s cheese but I just gave it a generous dollop of plain yogurt, and if I had had a lemon I would have given it a good squeeze over the whole production.) Anyway, it is delightful and filling and so, so simple. Greens, falafel, avocado and/or beets, chèvre or yogurt.  Generous pour of olive oil and generous sprinkle of salt. Best salad ever, the end.

DSC_0597

