I went by school this morning to pick up my diploma, and lo and behold, inside was a $40 gift card for Cokesbury, the Div school’s book store! Forty whole dollars to spend on theological books……. Here’s what I got:

1. Answering God, Eugene Peterson. This one was strongly recommended by my friend Kathryn– a book on the Psalms and prayer. I love Eugene so much because he’s brilliant & quotes everybody from Calvin to Denise Levertov but he writes like a normal person not like an a–hole theologian. (And at the same time writes well, uses latin phrases and employs an excellent vocabulary. And names books after G. M. Hopkins’s poems. Genius. Brilliant.)

2. The Prophetic Imagination, Walter Brueggemann. WB is just a beautiful writer. He is a genius, his writing on the Psalms is so perfect and lovely, as I’m sure this book will be as well. 

3. The Inner Voice of Love, Henri Nouwen. One of my favorite books by one of my favorite writers. I gave my old copy to a friend and have been meaning to buy a new one for ages. Beautiful and wise meditations written from a broken heart, from places of such pain and anguish. This book is the confrontation of the deepest pain– with God’s words of love and grace. 

4. Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and the Song of Songs, Ellen Davis. ED is brilliant and so wise. I love the OT, and especially the Wisdom literature (esp. of course the Song)… 

But of course, before I start any of these I have to finish New Moon, the second in the Twilight series. I hate to say it, but the writing is so, so bad. It really is. But I’m hooked & I have to find out what happens.

