Tags

, ,

For some reason I have not been able to stop thinking about Rublev’s icon of the Trinity. Henri Nouwen writes about it in his book on icons (Behold the Beauty of the Lord— a wonderful little book).

He writes:

“The more we look at this holy image with the eyes of faith, the more we come to realize that it is painted not as a lovely decoration for a convent church, nor as a helpful explanation of a difficult doctrine, but as a holy place to enter and stay within. As we place ourselves in front of the icon in prayer, we come to experience a gentle invitation to participate in the intimate conversation that is taking place among the three… and to join them around the table.

“The movement from the Father toward the Son and the movement of both the Son and Spirit toward the Father become a movement in which the one who prays is lifted up and held secure…

“Through contemplation of this icon we come to see with our inner eyes that all engagements in this world can bear fruit only when they take place within this divine circle. The words of the psalm. ‘The sparrow has found its home at last… Happy are those who live in your house’ (Ps 84) are given new depth and new breadth… Rublev’s icon gives us a glimpse of the house of perfect love…”

I wish I had more time to write on this. I have so many thoughts. (Psalm 23, Babette’s Feast, the Eucharist….) As I approach my marriage to John these images are becoming so much more pressing. I want our home to be in the Lord’s house. I want us to be like the little sparrows of Psalm 84 who have found their home– not in each other, or in a cottage by the Newport River, but in God. I want us to live and love each other out of knowledge that we are invited in to drink and feast at God’s bountiful table.

