Tags

“It will perhaps be asked in criticism why I have not tackled the obvious scientific question posed in this context. It was my original belief that this would be necessary, but I later saw that there can be no scientific problems, objections, or aids in relation to what Holy Scripture and the Christian Church understand by the divine work of creation. Hence in the central portion of this book a good deal will be said about ‘naive’ Hebrew ‘saga,’ but nothing at all about apologetics and polemics, as might have been expected. The relevant task of dogmatics at this point has been found exclusively in repeating the ‘saga,’ and I have found this task far finer and far more rewarding than all the dilettante entanglements in which I might otherwise have found myself” (Barth, CD III.1, x).

This is why the debates about creation v. evolution are so pointless, silly, etc. It just isn’t the point

