Tags

,

IMG_2467

our river today

It is one of those (rare, alas) mornings when I actually marvel at the silvery river that runs about twenty feet from our back door. The other side is far enough away that you can’t make out human structures and save some channel markers the marsh and river look totally pristine and untouched. Some elegant, white crane-like bird just flew past. I was up a little early this morning, and the silveryness of the river, and the dark, low-hanging silver clouds made me think of this Thomas Merton prayer:

“There is nothing else worth living for: only this infinitely peaceful Lord who is beyond words, beyond emotion, beyond intelligence. Cradle me, Holy Spirit, in your dark silver cloud and protect me against the heat of my own speech, my own judgment, and my own vision. Ward off the sickness of consolation and desire, of fear and grief that spring from desire” (Thomas Merton).

