Beaufort in the snow (ok, so the picture is from last year, but this is what it would look like if it did snow here...)

Once again, not being in school has thrown me for a little loop. No new classes to spice things up, no new books to buy, new rooms to find in the labyrinth of Div school. Just back to work and the same tiny smiling faces– a few new empty spaces where teeth were as of Dec. 18th, the same Uno games, the same little boys who stomp down the hall to get attention, the same stale coffee in the coffee pot. I’ve actually quit drinking coffee– it’s been about 8 days. I’m drinking green tea now, inspired partly by my bro and sis-in-law and their crazy health kick. This is the first time I’ve been able to quit and still function during the day. Woo hoo! Though I miss my morning cup of dark, rich, aromatic coffee………..

After close to two weeks of traveling/family time it’s nice to be back home. (Tennessee for xmas with my family, back for less than 3 days, then to Maryland to visit his family.) Both were great trips, and I am so glad we got an extra day in Nashville, we got some snow in Maryland, and I got to visit Whole Foods and other glimpses of civilization. But truth be told, it is nice to be home. To our white porcelain kitchen sink, our little Christmas tree (still up), and my own kitchen. I made split pea soup for dinner– all you have to do is boil some split peas, then simmer til it thickens & it turns into the best soup. All you need is a little s&p and it’s delicious. It is maybe my new favorite food, next to cauliflower, which nothing can surpass. Alas, duty calls. Must work on some spreadsheets for work, fold clothes, and help John with the dishes.

