Tags

, ,

(Plastic goes somewhere. Even if you recycle it, think of all the water and energy (aka oil aka we’re partly to blame for BP and the gulf) it takes to convert it to something useful. REDUCE is infinitely better than RECYCLE.)

So I’ve been reading this blog recently called Passionate Homemaking, and it’s one of those that portray this woman effortlessly eating grass fed beef, sewing her own clothes, homeschooling, gardening, canning, making kefir, drinking raw goat’s milk, reading a ton, and generally being awesome at life. Needless to say, sometimes it makes me want to throw up a little, with all of the perfection, but whatever. I still love it.

Anyway, she has a post titled 4 Items You Don’t Need in Your Bathroom (conditioner, shaving cream, makeup remover, aftershave). She links to a recipe for homemade shampoo that is basically a mix of Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap, apple cider vinegar, and a couple of other things.Ā I just whipped some together (fortunately had some Dr. Bronner’s soap and apple cider vinegar on hand). So I just made some and used it, totally hating the way it felt (it doesn’t lather like “real” shampoo, curses upon it) and doubting whether I would be able to get a brush even one inch through post shower. It just felt like putting water onto wet hair, and smelled vinegar-y. But lo and behold I went to brush, and I brushed all my hair with perhaps even less difficulty than I normally have. It’s shampoo and conditioner in one! Is this goodbye bottles and chemicals? (I guess if you were to use this recipe you still have to buy bottles of Dr. Bronners and ACV, but you water them down so much, and the bottles are bigger, and think of all the terrible suds that you save from the water! And the chemicals from your poor scalp!)

My hair is still wet, so we’ll see how it dries. It could be terrible…

