Tags

, , ,

Plastic is made from oil. Remember the Gulf. Wage war against plastic.

Today is day 3 of using this Dr. Bronners and Apple Cider Vinegar shampoo. First of all, my hair doesn’t smell like vinegar. After 3 days my hair has a different texture (it does feel a little more oily than usual, but I suspect that it’s just over-producing oil as I have taught it to do all my life through using harsh products that strip natural oils away, sending the scalp into overdrive to produce more oil!). I think the oiliness will subside– hopefully soon. I also spent some time in a chlorinated pool yesterday, and my new “shampoo” washed it out great.

Here’s the recipe (which I got from here):

1 c. Dr. Bronner’s castile liquid soap (apparently at some natural grocery stores they have pumps of this stuff so you don’t have to keep buying bottles. amazing. this genius hasn’t made it to Beaufort, NC yet, but here’s to hoping.)
2 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
3/4 Tbs. tea tree & Vit. E oil (or just one of these– if you don’t have these you could live without!)
1/4 c. water

The writer recommends using a spray bottle. I used less Dr. Bronners and more water for mine (hmmm so I didn’t actually measure the ingredients at all…).

I’ve also heard people say that they use baking soda or aloe vera mixtures for washing hair. I’ve been poking around a little, and here’s a great website that has recipes for different types of hair.

As I’ve been thinking about my hair, shampoo, and related matters I remembered something. I have VERY oily hair. Daily shampoo used to be a necessity. A few years ago I started trying to find hair products that didn’t contain soduim laureth/laurel sulfates and similar scary ingredients. For a while I bought Avalon Organics, which I loved. I stopped buying them because they’re a little pricey, but when I used them I only had to wash my hair every other day (or sometimes every 3 days) and my poor hair had some awesome volume.

Ultimately I don’t just want to reduce chemicals, I want to reduce plastic, packaging, and waste. The documentary Tapped opened my eyes about a lot of the issues with plastic and I want to live intentionally and not just buy things because big corporations have taught us from infancy that we have to buy.

