Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am fully aware that no one wants to hear any more about my sickness, but I just have to talk abut it. I am on round #3 of antibiotics since November, and I am a person who HATES taking medicine with a passion. I hate it. I read all the possible side effects of any given medicine and become convinced that I will get every single one of them, the bleeding stomach ulcers, paralysis, permanent loss of vision and whatnot.

So here I am on these awful antibiotics, and my tonsils are still swollen. And tomorrow, back to the germ soup aka pre-K classroom where I work. So once again I am researching natural remedies for tonsils on the internet! It’s in print so it must be true, right? Right?  Anyway, I’ve learned a lot. Here are some highlights (n.b.– this is NOT an exhaustive list, and if you’re really sick go to the doctor! and stop eating so much sugar!):

What not to eat/drink: Sugar, refined carbohydrates, caffeine, alcohol (basically, you may not eat or drink anything that tastes delicious)

What helps:

Epsom salt baths (and exercise. Sweating in general– get the toxins out!)

Gargling warm salt water (also helpful to gargle: a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, sage, fenugreek, garlic, obviously all heated in water and then cooled to gargling temp.)

Warm milk with turmeric (this is actually super tasty. You only need a small amount– 1/4 tsp cooked in a little water for 5 minutes, and then add milk and warm. You can add a little honey, but it actually tastes very sweet on its own!)

Fish oil (which everyone should be taking, anyway)

Ginger tea (best made by boiling a few slivers of ginger root for 10 minutes or so, straining, and with a little honey)

Lime juice (and lemon– a lot of places have recommended lime juice in particular)

But the reason I am writing all of this is that one website I found recommends this:

“Wearing a neck band of beads formed by basil helps in prevention of tonsillitis…”

neck band of beads formed by basil…… Really? Really? How would you even form beads from basil leaves? Maybe the stems? But really? I know that’s not voodoo, as the title of this post implies, but that was the best word I could think of right now, ok? Anyway, off to find some beads formed by basil for a little neck band….

