Tags

Has everyone already read this book, maybe so long ago that no one thought to mention to me that I must drop everything and read it instantly?!  Or am I just this far out of the loop of decent contemporary literature?!  At any rate, the dear lady whose 7 year old child I take care of left this book for me on the stove this morning with a post-it note saying that I should read it.

So, as I do not want all two of my dear readers to live any longer without having read this book:

The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls.  It’s a memoir of her childhood with an alcoholic father and an artistic mother who could not stoop to bother with mundane things like making sure her children had food.  So I have only read the first 34 pages, and I can’t vouch for anything beyond that, but these have been 34 of perhaps the most exquisitely written English prose I have ever read.  Please go buy a copy and read it.

n.b.– I finished it last night.  Only read this book if you are prepared to cry your eyes out.  But still, this is one of the best stories I have ever read.  Reads like a novel, just gut-wrenching and beautiful.

p.s.– I ended up re-reading this book, so in the space of about 3 days I’ve read it twice.  It’s that good.

