Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve made sprouted brown rice, but I made some today and thought I would re-post the recipe.  It is extremely easy to make, and I think it tastes better than regular rice!

Sprouted rice is apparently, in contrast with regular brown rice: easier to digest, contains more fiber,  vitamins, and enzymes such as gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA), which may have anti-anxiety properties, assist the nervous system, and promote better sleep and immune functions.

To make:

1 c brown rice (i used short grain; must be brown; white won’t germinate)

2 c. warm water (not boiling)

2 T apple cider vinegar, preferably raw, unpasteurized (or whey if you’re one of those really, really crazy people who makes whey)

Stir all the ingredients together and let sit at room temp. for 7-24 hours, changing the water every 12 hours, rinse, and then cook according to regular directions. (I actually left mine all day and then overnight, for a total of close to 20 hours without changing the water, and it still tasted pretty good, and I haven’t died yet. The rice actually tasted better the second day. Oh, and it didn’t look sprouted when I started to cook it– the rice grains looked much the same, but when cooked you can tell.)

Just serve it up with a big warm dollop of butter (or ghee!) and you are good to go.

