Tags

, , , , , ,

A

I was craving crepes this weekend, and so I made some.  We had some grapefruits that were perhaps a little beyond their prime and were calling out to be eaten.  We also had some sour cream that I had used for something earlier in the week and was also just sort of beckoning to me.  So I made this sauce.

I’m not going to type out the crepe recipe– those are simple enough to find online.  I used Tartelette’s (but used regular flour and substituted water for the beer).

Honey Sour Cream Sauce with Grapefruit: Mix about 1/4 c. good quality sour cream with about 1 T raw honey and 2-3 T fresh squeezed grapefruit juice.  Serve over warm crepes and garnish with freshly ground nutmeg or black pepper.

(You can substitute freshly squeezed orange juice, or a smaller amount of lemon or lime juice, if you’d like, or you can omit the citrus altogether.  The honey and sour cream taste wonderful on their own. You could also use some good, full fat Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. You really want a good amount of fat in there so the carbohydrates don’t just blaze through your system and make you feel terrible.)

