Tags

, , , , ,

I know I just posted about crepes.  But here are some more.  It’s one of those weeks.

It is also, apparently, one of those weeks where the average temperature in Ithaca is about 25 degrees higher than normal.  It’s supposed to be in the low 40s.  But it’s been in the high 60s.  And even though it’s been a mild winter here, guys, it has still been cold. I don’t think I’ve ever appreciated the feel of warm, bright sunshine more than I ever have the past few days.  Truly.

But the crepes.  I made a variation with buckwheat flour and some almond flour because I just do not do well if i eat too much white flour. That is a fact.

Buckwheat is rich in the flavanoid lutin and contains a lot of fiber and iron.  (In Brittany, they make buckwheat crepes called galettes, and they’re often served with cheese and ham and mushrooms and other savory fillings. They also serve these on the streets of Paris…)

I made these again with the sour cream and honey filling, and also a little Meyer lemon juice.  (I saw some at the grocery and they just looked like the embodiment of sunshine and joy, so I bought a few.) For dinner tonight, I reheated the crepes with some chopped up olives, sour cream, and shredded cheese.  Delicious.

Almond Buckwheat Crepes

2 eggs

1 c. milk

1/2 c. water or light colored beer

1/2 c. almond flour/meal

1/2 c. buckwheat flour

1 T. melted butter or olive oil

pinch salt

To make: whisk together eggs and liquids, add dry ingredients and stir until combined.  Let the batter rest at room temperature for about an hour, or for longer (even overnight) in the fridge.  Heat a small amount of oil or butter in a skillet on medium heat, and add batter, a scant 1/4 c. at a time, tilting the pan so that the batter spreads into a thin circle.  In about 30 seconds, flip with a spatula and cook a few more seconds on the other side.

n.b.– because of the types of flour I used, I had a hard time flipping these without breaking them– I ended up making most of them about half the size I normally make crepes, and the smaller ones were easier to turn without tearing.

