Tags

, , , , , , ,

Three ingredients.  No eggs. Vegan. (if you use chocolate that doesn’t have milk in it).  5 minutes prep time, a few hours in the fridge, and you have a perfect, pretty dessert that will make you dissolve in happiness.

This is actually one of my “cakes” from the other day, the one where I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream (the original recipe is from 101 Cookbooks, and if no one on your house is allergic to milk, I would recommend making it her way, with cream!).  With coconut milk, it didn’t turn out very cake-like.  More like chocolate mousse.  So I spooned it into glasses and it was perfect. Creamy, melt in your mouth texture.

I made it again today and poured the “batter” straight into some tiny little glass jars rather than a cake pan to make little individual servings. (Some of the photographs are from my first attempt, in the cake pan, and the rest are from today, when I poured the mixture into glass jars.)

And there are obviously one million variations you could do with this, all sorts of flavors, etc.  But you know what?  I like the purity of the simple chocolate.  I really do.

No-Bake Chocolate Truffle Mousse

12-13 ounces of 70% dark chocolate (I used one bag of Ghriardelli semisweet chocolate chips)

1 13 ounce can of coconut milk (NOT the low fat kind)– shake the can really well before opening (and you can substitute heavy cream if you want!)

1 t. vanilla

1/2 t. salt

1. Melt chocolate in a double burner (I don’t have one, so I just put the chocolate in a small saucepan, and place the small saucepan into a larger pan with some water in it).  Heat on medium-low, stirring constantly, until the chocolate is just melted.  Turn off heat.

2. While the chocolate is melting, shake the coconut can vigorously, pour into a separate pan & heat on low, stirring to break up any pieces of coconut fat that might be left.  Add vanilla and salt.

3.  Very slowly pour the chocolate into the coconut milk, stirring steadily to make sure that the chocolate gets completely incorporated into the milk.  Keep stirring until everything is very well blended.  Pour into a serving bowl or individual glasses, bowls, etc. and chill for about 8 hours or overnight.

Dust with powdered cocoa or some sea salt & voila.

