Tags

, , , , , ,

We’re well into the week of eating from the pantry (recap: when it was time for this week’s grocery trip, I just…. didn’t…. go.  To save money. We decided to make do until May 1 with whatever was left in our pantry.).

It’s been going well, though 2 out of 3 of my posts have been about beans, and while I still have plenty more to say about legumes, I thought I would move on to a different topic: polenta.

Polenta is basically the Italian version of grits— cornmeal cooked up in some water, stock, or even milk until it forms a creamy, thick-ish texture.  Once cooked,  polenta is often shaped into small cakes and fried.  And polenta is gluten free!  (I’ve been trying to avoid gluten recently, and I think it’s helping my skin get better, guys, which I’m really excited about.  Still not sure if there’s a correlation, but we’ll see………….)

Since we had some blueberries in the freezer, and because I am craving sweets like crazy, I decided to make a polenta pudding.  It turned out delicious.   This would make a light, not-too-sweet dessert– or a beautiful breakfast.

Blueberry Polenta Pudding

(Recipe makes a small serving, for 2-3 people.)

1/2 c. polenta

2 c. water (if you have some whole milk on hand, you can use milk for all or part of the water– you can also substitute coconut milk, soy milk, etc.)

1/4 c. coconut oil or butter

1 t. vanilla

1/2 t. salt

1/4 c. agave nectar, honey, or sugar

1 c. blueberries (frozen or fresh)

1.  Place polenta in a large pot and add the water/milk.  Heat on low and cook for 15-20 minutes, stirring somewhat constantly, until the polenta has absorbed all the liquid.  The polenta should be fairly thick.

2.  Meanwhile butter a baking dish and swirl a little bit of dry polenta or flour (I used polenta) on top of the butter so that there is a thin, even coating of flour/polenta lining the pan– or line the dish with parchment paper.

3.  Once polenta has cooked, add coconut oil or butter and stir until melted.  Add the rest of the ingredients, stirring until mixed, and pour batter into the buttered baking dish.

4.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until the edges are browning slightly and the polenta is set.  (If the polenta still seems too runny, cover with foil and bake 5-10 more minutes.)  Serve warm.

