Tags

, , , , ,

During the last day or two of our pantry eating experiment, we finally ran out of bread, as well as most other things.  I realized that I had some quinoa in the cupboard still, but I really have to admit that I don’t love the taste of quinoa.  I know it’s supposed to be this perfect food, but I was not looking forward to eating it.  So I decided to make it sweet.

There’s not really a recipe for this: just cook the quinoa according to the package’s directions, add some butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, a dash of salt, and some kind of sweetener.  We had some local maple syrup, so I used some of that.  Add a few teaspoons of ground flaxseed if you want.  Some dried fruit and nuts.  Or fresh fruit.  I just had sunflower seeds and raisins, but dried cherries would be gorgeous with this (dried cherries soaked in some bourbon would take this from super nutritious breakfast to I can’t believe how delicious this is dessert).

It’s super filling– the quinoa is packed with protein, fiber, and vitamins, and it has enough carbohydrates to keep you going for awhile.  I ate it for dinner, and then more for lunch the next day.

