Tags

, , , , , ,

John has been out of town since Friday.  Woe is me.  In the dark pit of loneliness which is my life without him, I have been reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog, drinking chicken broth in the hope of healing some inflamed tonsils, and watching movies I rented for free from the library (take that, Netflix), including La Vie En Rose, the movie about Edith Piaf, and whoa. Marion Cotillard was unreal in this role.  And the girl who sang “La Marseillaise”…….. Unbelievable. (You can, and should, watch the scene on youtube).  Is it wrong that I find “La Marseillaise” to be an absolutely gorgeous song?  I mean, this…….  But before I get carried away, the food.

So today at the farmers’ market I bought a bunch of mizuna, some purple asparagus, and a pink champagne currant bush.  I cannot even begin to tell you how exquisitely happy I am about this little bush.  Pink champagne currants!  Honestly!

I made a little frittata with the asparagus for a dinner thing for tomorrow night.  Only I don’t like the word frittata so I’m calling it “asparagus and chevre with eggs”  This recipe is also very loosely based on the one for tortillas (which in Spain refers to a dish baked with eggs) in An Everlasting Meal.  You could omit the asparagus and substitute potatoes, or almost any other vegetable.

Asparagus and Chevre with Eggs

Dice half an onion and 3-4 cloves of garlic, and cut a pound of asparagus and a small apple (optional) into bite-sized pieces.   Sautee onion in a generous amount of olive oil or butter. Add about a teaspoon of salt.  After a few minutes, add asparagus and saute until tender.  Add garlic, and cook for another minute.  Remove from heat.  Add apple pieces (I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh basil, but it’s not necessary.)

Line a baking dish with parchment paper.  Stir 4-6 eggs and some chevre (or other kind of cheese– anywhere from 1/4 c. to a full cup) into vegetables.  Stir until eggs are well mixed.  Pour into the baking dish and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes, or until the eggs are set and the top is ever so slightly browned.

* Variation: you can just saute some vegetables, per this recipe, place them in a small baking dish that has been generously doused with olive oil or butter, and then crack an egg or two on top (sprinkle with cheese, optional).  Bake a few minutes until the whites are cooked and the yolk is still runny.  Eat with toast.

