Tags

, , , , ,

Oh the farmers’ market.  It’s been a few weeks since I’ve gone.  Rhubarb has (finally) appeared.  My $20 seemed to go further than ever before:  I bought 2 bags of spinach, a pound of rhubarb, some of the prettiest candy red radishes I’ve ever laid eyes on,  a bunch of chives and long stalks of both garlic leeks and garlic stems.  Enough alliums for a week’s worth of onion, garlic, and leek tarts.

Confession: I’ve never cooked (or even eaten?!) rhubarb before. I decided to make a rhubarb granita (recipe to follow soon, picture below), which, with all of 3 ingredients (one of which is water) and 5 minutes of prep work, turned out to be so easy.  And it was the prettiest shade of pink and tastes like honeysuckle nectar.  Perfect, perfect summer dessert.  And I have enough rhubarb to make another recipe or two.  I can’t wait.  I have some ideas…

Also, we have a peony bush in our yard.  One is starting to bloom (see below).  Oh rapturous beauty.

