Tags

, , , , ,

My friend Hannah recently sent me this recipe for baked oatmeal.  I made it a few days ago, and oh man.  It’s good.  (And oatmeal is much, much more economical than any boxed cereal you can buy, and even more so if you can buy oats from the bulk bins of a natural grocery store.)

When it came out of the oven, the texture was basically like regular oatmeal (see first photo), but after it sat in the fridge for a few hours it became harder and chewier, almost like bread pudding or something.  It was so great.  I cut some circles out of it and cooked them up in a pan (just heated them in some oil over medium heat for a minute or two on each side).

*This also tastes really good cold, with some yogurt or whole milk and some fresh berries on top.

(Notes about the recipe: I used 2 c. water plus 4 T raw apple cider vinegar instead of a cultured milk product like yogurt or kefir for the overnight soaking), and instead of the cinnamon I mixed in 2 t. vanilla.)

Also, from the same blog: 40 Days to a Less Cluttered Home. (Though 10 of the days involve kids’ stuff, so if you don’t have any children you’re down to 30 days!)

