Tags

, , , , , , ,

DSC_0539

It’s in the high 50s today, which feels almost exotic after the single digit weather we’ve been having.  The baby is thrashing around, and today for the first time I could see my abdomen visibly moving when the baby moved.  I’ve been trying to eat plenty of protein lately, for the baby.  Hence the almond meal cake.

DSC_0541

Also, for the record, I stopped taking my Trader Joe’s fish oil supplements a month or two ago.  I’m not really sure why.  I just didn’t feel motivated to take them, it’s a hassle, etc.  But I started back a few days ago, and my energy has at least doubled since then.  If anyone is feeling a little blah or lethargic, try fish oil, and take a double dose every day!

So, with my renewed energy I made this cake, adapted from a recipe on the back of a bag of Bob’s Red Mill almond meal.  I used olive oil instead of butter and almond milk instead of regular milk (so John can eat some).  And I added some orange zest and juice to give it a nice orange flavor.  It is truly moist and delicious.  (And gluten free!)  But this is also a simple cake, not the cake I’d make if I were trying to impress a dinner party.  A simple, family cake, or a cake for people who appreciate subtle, rustic fare.

DSC_0529

Orange Vanilla Almond Cake (Gluten Free)

3/4 c. butter (or equal amount of olive oil or coconut oil)
3/4 c. sugar (original recipe calls for 1 c. sugar, so you can do that if you want this very sweet, or even go down to 1/2 c. if you don’t need much sweetness)
4 eggs
scant 1/2 c. milk (regular or almond, soy, etc.)
1 t. vanilla
2-3 T orange zest (zest from 2 oranges)
5-7 T juice from one of the oranges*

1 and 1/2 c. almond meal/flour
1/2 c. coconut flour
1/2 t. salt
2 t. baking powder

*You can substitute lemon zest and juice for a lemon cake, and you can add a couple of teaspoons of poppy seeds, if you want.

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F.

2.  Cream butter and sugar, or mix oils and sugar.  Add eggs, milk, orange juice and zest, and vanilla, and beat until smooth.

3.  Mix dry ingredients well and add them to the oil/sugar/egg mixture.  Stir sparingly until no lumps remain.

4.  Pour into greased (or parchment papered) 9×13 baking dish and bake at 350 f for 25-30 minutes. (Photos are of a half batch of the recipe!)

DSC_0543

