Tags

,

Image

John and I bought a new car on Monday.  And by new, I mean 11 years old.  I am in love with it.

So we’re selling my dear old Toyota Corolla (pictured above).  And by old, I mean 21 years old.  A 1992 with only 179,000 miles on it.  I never thought this day would come, or at least I thought it would be in about 5 or 10 more years.  My dad bought this car for me in 2004 (thanks again, Dad!), and it has needed literally as little work as you can imagine a car possibly needing: mainly brake pads here and there, the water pump once, and John made me get new transmission fluid when we lived in Beaufort.  I am trying to remember, but I think in 9 years that is all we have had to do. I love this car with an unholy obsession.

But get this!  I just looked up my Corolla on Kelley’s Blue Book to see how much I should list it for on Craigslist, and I discovered that they only give values back as far as 1993!!!! Are you kidding me? What is the deal here? Anyway, I don’t need some random online car valuing algorithm to tell me what I already know: this car is priceless.

