Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC_0617 DSC_0624

Our last CSA pick-up was this past weekend.  Three big bags of tender, greenhouse kale, a bunch of onions and potatoes.  A handful of yellow carrots. And more squashes.  Our kitchen runneth over with squashes of all kinds these days. I don’t have a good place for them, so they’re heaped on counters and shelves, perched on windowsills and hiding in every possible nook and cranny.  There’s something comforting about a kitchen full of squashes.  There’s a big butternut squash that I haven’t been able to bring myself to peel, a delicata, several acorn, a pie pumpkin, and one or two which might just be decorative gourds but I’m not quite sure. We roasted up some of them this weekend when my dad was in town, just with a little olive oil and salt and pepper, and then when they were out of the oven we added butter.

The ginkgo trees lost their leaves about a day and a half ago, in the emphatic and final way they do.  Clinton Street, which is lined with them, now looks like it’s paved with gold.  I’ve been adding pinches of clove and cinnamon to the coffee grounds the past few days to make what I’ve been thinking happily of as “Christmas coffee.”

And my baby is somehow 6 months old today.  Each day has been more delightful than the last.  Here are two pictures of him having just woken up from a nap, and one of him and me all bundled up, my little vade mecum. And I couldn’t help dressing him up like Tin Tin for Halloween (the clothes all assembled from our bounty of hand-me-downs, and the little dog courtesy of one very sweet grandmother!).

DSC_0812 DSC_0813photo-3
photo-1 copy

image-4

photo-3

