Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_1276

 

Starting in November I got a longing to buy Christmas books for Will.  We would go to Barnes and Noble sometimes on cold days to play with the little train table they have in their children’s section, and the display of Christmas books would beckon to me.  I would dream of spending lots of money because, well, it’s Christmas, and that’s what you’re supposed to do at Christmas, right?

DSC_1279

But then I stumbled across the holiday section of children’s books in our library.  They have two whole rows of shelves full of Christmas books. And I realized, why spend tons of money on books when you can get them for free? So today, even though everything was covered in snow I bundled the two of us up and we set out for the library.

DSC_1278

DSC_1281

I picked up a copy of The Polar Express and 7 or 8 other lovely books, including several books about the nativity, one of Christmas carols illustrated by Tomie dePaola and one illustrated version of “Good King Wenceslas.”

Will LOVES reading these days.  We snuggled up to read The Polar Express right before his nap, and I was a little dismayed by how many words there were on each page (I doubted Will would have the patience to sit through such a long story), but he sat with rapt attention while I read though the whole book twice. He’s asleep now, but I know when he wakes up we will have a long afternoon of Christmas book reading & playing in the snow.

DSC_1277

DSC_1283

