Tags

, , , ,

It’s still freezing cold here.  Lots of mornings in the single digits.  And general misery of that nature. This is our week (below).  And all the weeks from now until halfway through April. I know no one wants to hear anyone else complain about the weather, and a lot of you probably also live in cold places, but my poor little southern self still cannot get over this (and this is not a particularly bad example, this is just literally the normal weather for this week):

photo

Anyway. We eat a lot of potatoes in the winter because it just seems like the right thing to do, and they’re cheap.  It’s the only produce that I buy organic anymore, but I do think for potatoes organic is important.  Someone once told me that farmers of conventional potatoes won’t eat the ones they grow because of all the poison they know is on them.

One of my favorite things to do with them is to make a Spanish tortilla, which is kind of like a frittata but with onions and potatoes, and both of those cooked up nice and soft in heaps of olive oil, and then baked with the eggs poured over.  Here’s a picture of the potatoes and onions in the first stage of cooking, in the olive oil.  I’ve started adding several teaspoons of paprika to the potatoes and onions as they cook, and it just tastes like perfection. This is just as good like this as it is baked with eggs in a dish.  Either way, super warming and filling and rich and delightful for cold winter days.

DSC_1291

And then here are some pictures of Will recently.  He’s in this fun stage of saying new words almost every day: cheese, juice (by which he means elderberry syrup diluted with water; I don’t actually let him drink juice), baby, oink, uh-oh.  And doing puzzles like a champ, and helping put his toys away (even starting to put them back on the right shelf where they go).  And building with Duplos forever on his own. And also throwing some crazy tantrums and being really strong-willed and obstinate and all of that. But mostly being delightful and darling.

DSC_1303

But the tantrums and toddler craziness and the dishes and the coats and mittens and hats and the absolute cold (with no end in sight) have been tempting me to hate these days and wish them away.  But I read this the other day on this blog and I thought it was so beautiful:

“Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return.” ― poem by Mary Jean Irion

That just stabs me right in the heart.  These days are so precious, and my little baby is getting big and independent so very fast and these days of little smudgy fingers holding mine and snuggling in my lap and the little kisses on my mouth, these days will not last long.  I want to treasure them and savor them and not wish them away for warmer days.

We finally took our Christmas tree down.  I never posted any of the videos of Will and his Christmas tree joy, but for the first 2 weeks we had our tree up, Will would run into the living room first thing in the morning, gasping and laughing with joy when he saw the tree.  He would do happy dances and twirl around.  He loved that tree.  Now, ever since we took the tree down he points to where it was and then to the front door (where he knows it went) and makes the sign for “all gone” and then waves bye bye and makes a sort of anguished, concerned sound while doing these gestures.  It is heartbreaking. And precious.

DSC_1302

DSC_1307

