Tags

, , , ,

DSC_1289 DSC_1304 John made quite a bit of ground venison out of the deer he shot this fall (with a bow, at 54 yards, not in a tree stand), and it is my favorite.  Other than the venison he cans with our friend the surgeon, who also hunts (to his wife’s mild dismay). But the canned venison is a story for another day. Anyway, we don’t have any plans for the Super Bowl, but I do love football weekend food, so I decided to make a big pot of chili for our weekend stew. I don’t have a recipe for you (I more or less followed the Red Meat Chili recipe in nourishing traditions but added a small can of tomato paste and used a can of cheap beer instead of the red wine).  We ate it today, we’ll have it for lunch tomorrow, and then tomorrow night… I will make chili cheese nachos out of whatever is left! So it will be pretty much exactly what we will have eaten for the previous three meals, but in nacho form, which means it will be awesome.DSC_1296 Also, when I went to the grocery this morning it was 10 degrees outside.  Anyway, hope you all are staying warm and enjoying some good, satisfying comfort food this weekend!

