Petite Raw Macaroons

These are vegan, raw, and gluten free.  And beyond easy to make.  Coconut and coconut oil/butter have many health benefits.  Also, to me, these taste like raw cookie dough.  I’m not kidding.  These would also be a fun project to do with kids (they look like little snowballs…. you could make snowmen and decorate them…..)  You can also dip or cover them in semi-sweet chocolate, and they taste like Mounds. (You can see my very messy attempt at that below!)

Ingredients 

2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut (I used coconut powder.  You could also use coconut flour for a more cookie-like consistency.)

1/4 c. coconut butter (I used coconut oil instead)

1/2 c. almond or coconut flour (I just used regular white flour– eek!)

1/3- 1/2 c. agave nectar or raw honey (read about health benefits of raw honey here— raw honey is not to be given to infants under 1 year)

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. vanilla

(You could also add 2 T of lemon, lime, or orange zest!!)

Mix all ingredients together.  Taste for sweetness (add a little more honey/agave if you like it sweeter).  Test to see if the “dough” sticks together well enough– if it feels too dry, add water, 1 T at a time until you are able to form small balls easily.  For more uniform shape, use a rounded teaspoon to scoop these out.

6 thoughts on “Petite Raw Macaroons”

  1. Can I share this recipe with my readers? I’d be happy to link back to you!!!

    I’m studying to be a Naturopathic Doctor and so, so, so many of my friends/patients/colleagues have food allergies and diet restrictions. This is a great allergy friendly dessert.

    Thanks!
    Pragati
    http://www.simplemedicine.me

Leave a comment